Page 1 of 1

Zone times

Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2022 8:31 am
by Glauri
Since the last expansion became active, my zone times are horrific. They are so long that I think that I'm LD. My ping times are fine (sub-80s). When I try to zone, I don't even see that blue line depicting zone loading -- it eventually shows up, but only after 30s or more of nothing! Even more strangeness, the EQ music continues to play in the background w/o skipping a beat.

Is this issue just me? Are any of you also having a tough time? Have you any suggestions on how I might get things back to normal?

Re: Zone times

Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2022 6:07 pm
by Goofydoofy
No issues here. I think the solve back when was to delete the zone files if it's a specific zone. I always just copy my .ini files and delete the whole directory and do a fresh install, then add the .ini files back once a year or so. I haven't had any problems in along time since I started doing that. Could be excessive temp or log files. A lot of different causes. Easiest to just fresh install and clean everything up. Delete any .ini files for toons you no longer have etc to make it even cleaner. Make sure you install it to the same place so you don't have to redirect any outside EQ programs to something new.

Re: Zone times

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2022 5:56 am
by Glauri
Thanks for the suggestion! I'll try that!