Can't get in...

Moderator: Littlabit

Oaklen
Whee!
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:03 pm
Contact:

Can't get in...

Postby Oaklen » Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:31 pm

Hey buds, been trying to log in but I am crashing each time I try to go from the Character Selet screen to world. Any ideas on a fix out there yet?
Sensei Oaklen <Celestial Navigators>
Monkeying around since 2k

Ayragon
Whee!
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:46 pm

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Ayragon » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:36 pm

me too, any news?

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1554
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Derdarr » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:03 pm

son had to patch his ui.. i always do with any ui change patch and had no problems getting in

Ayragon
Whee!
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:46 pm

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Ayragon » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:11 pm

how do you do that?

User avatar
Lhimy
Whee!
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:11 pm

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Lhimy » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:40 pm

Could def be a UI problem but if i'm not mistaken you were at raids last night Oak and I dont think they did anything between then and now, would have seen that kind of problem immidiately after the patch (that's assuming you're using a custom UI as well) and not a day later.

Next obvious question is did either of you try returning home? to see if you just had a corrupted zone file? That or just what ever zone you camped in has people with decorated armor and i've no doubt from past experiance they are going to be responsible for lots of crashing problems to come over the next few weeks.

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1554
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Derdarr » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:48 pm

well, to patch your ui what i do is just copy any new ui files in the patch notes.. then paste them into my custom ui folder allowing for overwrite of those new files.. all i use for custom are the old icon and spell button pictures. I cant stand the new ones lol

User avatar
Tarvas
Whee!
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:48 am
Location: Dead in a ditch

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Tarvas » Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:08 pm

The problem is probably a short between the keyboard and the floor.
Alan
I'm a Tank!
Image
Punked, Carvas, Harvas, Cayleb

User avatar
Lickitys
Whee!
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Blaine Minnesota

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Lickitys » Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:19 am

Tarvas wrote:The problem is probably a short between the keyboard and the floor.


AAAAAHHHHHH, the old PEBKAC error..... For those of you not in Computer Repair.
Problem
Exists
Between
Keyboard
And
Chair
Lickitys
108th Level Druid of Tunare
Image

Oaklen
Whee!
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Oaklen » Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:42 am

Der thanks for the good hint buddy. Unfortunately it didn't work for the UI I built, but maybe ina a few days I'll start to see updates to the UI pieces I frankenstiened togehter that will let me get my Old Default Buff icons back. What a pita.

Tarvas I usually start out from the position it is an operator headspace and timing error, but sometimes I am wrong. Wiseass
Sensei Oaklen <Celestial Navigators>

Monkeying around since 2k

Ayragon
Whee!
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:46 pm

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Ayragon » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:08 am

hopefully everybody is fixed. But for future UI issues this works for me.

Update the UISkin line in the UI_char_server file to "default".
Create a folder in the uifiles folder called whatever "oldspells" or something that contain just these ones (from your previously good custom UI folder)

gemicons01.tga
gemicons02.tga
gemicons03.tga
spells01.tga
spells02.tga
spells03.tga
spells04.tga
spells05.tga
spells06.tga
spells07.tga

Once you load up EQ with the default UI, you can just switch it from the options menu in game.
This lets you use both the default UI for bags and inventory and all the other crap, but it will use the old spell icons.

Haven't had to do that in a while.

Oaklen
Whee!
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't get in...

Postby Oaklen » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:50 am

Ayragon,

Thanks a lot buddy, I appreciate you posting that for folks like me who still use Old Default UI and spell icons. I could not figure out how to get it working right, but I was only lookin at the .xml files.

Those files look a lot like the ones Der hooked a brotha up with. Thanks again Derdarr!

Oak
Sensei Oaklen <Celestial Navigators>

Monkeying around since 2k