Anyone know what is up with the EQTOOLBox maps?

Moderator: Littlabit

Freyalafey
Whee!
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:38 pm
Location: Douglasville, GA
Contact:

Anyone know what is up with the EQTOOLBox maps?

Postby Freyalafey » Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:04 pm

Yes, yet again I am having issues with the game... but apparently i am not the only one. Does anyone know what is up with the downloadable maps from eqtoolbox? I only get like maybe 1/18 of all the maps. Said to be the same for others that have tried to recently download the maps from eqtoolbox. Anyone know anything?

Siderius
Kim Son Quang
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 7:09 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Postby Siderius » Mon Feb 07, 2005 2:55 pm

did you choose the SOE standard or the other one? there is maps there for use in some other program. I think for editing them and making then nicer etc.

Just be carefull you choose SONY or SOE standard, they should work, does for me atleast
[75 Wildblood] <a href="http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=666907">Tarjei</a>(Iksar)
[75 Grand Arcanist] <a href="http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=664788">Siderius</a> (Gnome)

"I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours."
-- Stephen Roberts

Jhereg
Whee!
Posts: 4572
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:11 pm
Contact:

Postby Jhereg » Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:19 pm

One common problem is EQ locks maps that its used. Say you logged in, went to do a Butcherblock Ldon then zoned into the ldon and found it wasn't a map you had. It's too late. That map is now write protected even if you later on log to another character. It only unlocks when you close EQ. The best time to install maps is when EQ isn't running. Even if you thought it downloaded okay, it likely just didn't show the error in trying to write.

User avatar
Saphirone
Whee!
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:05 pm
Location: New Mexico

Postby Saphirone » Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:45 pm

For some reason, (And yes I followed ALL Instructions to a T) All the maps I attemp tto download all corrupt.
Saphirone the Noble Lady
Retired Wizard Officer of Celestial Navigators -EQ1 (Or am I?)
Qarma Jenkins
Retired Officer of Nocturnae -WoW
Saphirone/Qarma/Qarmia
Retired Loudmouth Officer of Ecliptic Sol -EQII

Bolerro
Whee!
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:32 pm
Location: Spokane, Warshington
Contact:

Postby Bolerro » Mon Feb 07, 2005 10:28 pm

I went to http://www.mapfiend.net to get my maps..... haven't been able to log in since I downloaded the new ones, so not sure how they look... just an idea for ya

*** ok, nm... just noticed that it is eqtoolbox... strange that I never noticed that before ***

Jhereg
Whee!
Posts: 4572
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:11 pm
Contact:

Postby Jhereg » Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:39 am

Saphirone, view the file after you download it and see if its in a format of lines like:

Code: Select all

L -765.0000, 2829.0000, -352.0000,  -749.0000, 2827.0000, -352.0000,  0, 0, 0

Freyalafey
Whee!
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:38 pm
Location: Douglasville, GA
Contact:

WEll, i tried tried again,

Postby Freyalafey » Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:18 pm

STill no luck for me with thte maps. Took all your suggestions though. Ah well, there is always the good ole atlas on line.. LOL