servers down?

Moderator: Littlabit

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1554
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

servers down?

Postby Derdarr » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:14 pm

Anyone logged in? i cant seem to get in

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1554
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Derdarr » Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:09 pm

Well that's interesting. Not sure why that would be happening, unless perhaps you were linked to a bootstrapper of LP1 like the ancient patcher maybe?


Regardless, here is the quick fix: Run this installer (its only about 12 megs) and point the install path to where your EQ files reside. That will drop an LP4 shortcut to EQ and you should be good to go after that.



http://launch.soe.com/installer/EQ_setup.exe

User avatar
Zahashah
Whee!
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:31 am
Location: The Siskiyou Mts of Southern Oregon
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Zahashah » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:07 pm

I can't get in either ... have reloaded Launchpad .. still trying ... will try link
Image
"It is good to have an end to journey towards:
but it is the journey that matters in the end." ~Ursula K Le Guin

Fnord
Whee!
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: servers down?

Postby Fnord » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:07 pm

Big time fail, switching launchers with no notice

User avatar
Tarvas
Whee!
Posts: 2024
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:48 am
Location: Dead in a ditch

Re: servers down?

Postby Tarvas » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:10 pm

I am still using the old patcher.
Alan
I'm a Tank!
Image
Punked, Carvas, Harvas, Cayleb

Fnord
Whee!
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: servers down?

Postby Fnord » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:13 pm

Not anymore. I was using original until now. It was a forced update.

User avatar
Zahashah
Whee!
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:31 am
Location: The Siskiyou Mts of Southern Oregon
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Zahashah » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:17 pm

Appears to be an 8,311 mb download slowly loading it /sigh
Image
"It is good to have an end to journey towards:
but it is the journey that matters in the end." ~Ursula K Le Guin

User avatar
Zahashah
Whee!
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:31 am
Location: The Siskiyou Mts of Southern Oregon
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Zahashah » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:33 pm

Jamed up at 134 mb and didn't move
Had to go give permission to lp_plugin to pass security and now download is moving along
Image
"It is good to have an end to journey towards:
but it is the journey that matters in the end." ~Ursula K Le Guin

User avatar
Zahashah
Whee!
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:31 am
Location: The Siskiyou Mts of Southern Oregon
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Zahashah » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:00 pm

Totally missed tonight raid and am bummed about that!
Still downloading the patch / update/ fix what ever Derdarr had link.
Will work on this and hopefully can join you all tomorrow!
Image
"It is good to have an end to journey towards:
but it is the journey that matters in the end." ~Ursula K Le Guin

warador
Whee!
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:05 am
Location: central ohio

Re: servers down?

Postby warador » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:57 am

ok it made me download the new patcher this morning now all my settings are gone . how do i fix this in computers for dummies terms plz
Image

User avatar
Zahashah
Whee!
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:31 am
Location: The Siskiyou Mts of Southern Oregon
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Zahashah » Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:12 am

I had that happen also, was horrified!

I run on Windows Vista 64 bit ~ the patcher had loaded into the 32 bit Program Files.
I was able to log in but all my character info was missing!

Had to delete all of it in the Sony file in the "Program Files" and start over directing the patcher to the "Program Files (x86)" Sony File

This was successful and all my hot keys. ui settings and even custom ui were back and fine!

Hope this helps you!

Image
"It is good to have an end to journey towards:
but it is the journey that matters in the end." ~Ursula K Le Guin

Dbilu
Whee!
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: servers down?

Postby Dbilu » Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:22 pm

Hi

I found this http://forums.station.sony.com/eq/posts ... _id=182806 and I was able to get EQ going again.

DB

warador
Whee!
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:05 am
Location: central ohio

Re: servers down?

Postby warador » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:01 am

ok finally got a chance to delete the download from thursday and am trying to reinstall in c\program files (x86)\sony. i get a popup saying .. due to your account settings, this installer is unable to write to c:\program files x86 sony what did i do wrong . again in computers for dummies terms plz
Image

User avatar
Ommina
Whee!
Posts: 3918
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:26 pm
Location: ömniöüs

Re: servers down?

Postby Ommina » Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:10 am

You're better off installing it somewhere other than Program Files, if you can.

If that's not an option, look for some sort of "run as administrator" for starting the installer. Windows is saving you from yourself, by making your life difficult.

(Insert my ongoing sudo joke here.)

warador
Whee!
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:05 am
Location: central ohio

Re: servers down?

Postby warador » Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:50 am

just trying to save my hotkeys and stuffand still get into the game . i hate it when they tinker with stuff sony must be a bunch of gnomes
Image

User avatar
Meso
Whee!
Posts: 1095
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: servers down?

Postby Meso » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:32 am

most folks that had issue was because it loaded in a new directory. The char data isn't lost. EQ is just being launched from the wrong place.

warador
Whee!
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:05 am
Location: central ohio

Re: servers down?

Postby warador » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:41 am

ya i know that but cant seem to figure out the fix can i just move the character files to the new directory because the launcher isnt cooperating and installing where the chracter files are
Image

User avatar
Zahashah
Whee!
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:31 am
Location: The Siskiyou Mts of Southern Oregon
Contact:

Re: servers down?

Postby Zahashah » Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:24 am

Hi Warador,
The Path is:
C/ProgramFiles(x86)/Sony/Station/launchpad load it into launchpad
I also went ahead and deleted all launchpad files in C/ProgramFiles(x86)/Sony/Everquest

Once the new patcher loaded into the launchpad file it ran a scan and filed in the launchpad files I needed back into my EQ directory.
All of my character info: hot keys, friends list, chat channels, UI settings returned back to normal for me.

Hope this works for you!
Zahashah
Image
"It is good to have an end to journey towards:
but it is the journey that matters in the end." ~Ursula K Le Guin