new computer... Will This Run EQ?

Moderator: Littlabit

Serano
Whee!
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:12 pm

Re: new computer... Will This Run EQ?

Postby Serano » Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:47 pm

ummm... is there something wrong to setting up my TV to showroom settings?

Dreyvor
Whee!
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:41 pm

Re: new computer... Will This Run EQ?

Postby Dreyvor » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:41 pm

I had a 42 inch and a 55 inch Plasma TV in my house that I recently replaced with LEDs. My electric bill is now 40 A MONTH cheaper.

User avatar
Bilnick
Whee!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:02 am
Location: Saline, Michigan

Re: new computer... Will This Run EQ?

Postby Bilnick » Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:37 am

Dreyvor wrote:I had a 42 inch and a 55 inch Plasma TV in my house that I recently replaced with LEDs. My electric bill is now 40 A MONTH cheaper.


You must watch A TON of TV then to save $40 a month from ONLY 2 televisions.

It is hard to find wattages for many TVs on the manufacturers websites, I looked at a 55" Samsung LED and a 54" Panasonic plasma and both mention they are Energy star complaint (whatever that means) but neither lists how much power they use. A 52" sony LED LCD uses 201W of power though and my 50" plasma is listed at 576W.

The LED LCD would save 1kWhour of power every two hours and 40 minutes. (576-201)/1000= 2.66 A kWhour in California is around $0.15. Most states in the midwest and south are around 10 cents a kWhour. 40 bucks is 266kWhours (in California), multiply that by 2.66hours to save 1Kw with a LED LCD and you get 709 hours of TV a month or 23 hours of TV a day (split however you want between two televisions).

Of course my gas and electric bills (they are combined for me) dropped by over $40 recently as well, and I didn't change any televisions in my house....it just got warmer outside.