Strange bug...!

Moderator: Littlabit

User avatar
Tsekande
Klutzy Beastie
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: Swamp East Missouri (Sikeston)

Strange bug...!

Postby Tsekande » Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:23 pm

Okay, maybe it's one of those strange things I am a magnet to....

...but it kinda drives me nuts to log on and have the server running like it's hyperactive. Guards are panting and everything is at a fevered pitch. Only to log out completely and then have things go slower then snot. :x

But hoping it'll be 'normal' again when I reboot the computer and try logging in again. Oy!
Tsekande Troublepouncer, 76 Vah Shir Beastlord
Henri Sootypaws, 26 Vah Shir Shaman
Dagrun, 24 Drakkin Magician
Nasrin, 17 Drakkin Monk

(Siggy under construction)

User avatar
Ommina
Whee!
Posts: 3911
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:26 pm
Location: ömniöüs

Re: Strange bug...!

Postby Ommina » Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:55 pm

Two things that I've heard can cause that -- EQ confused about which core it is running on, or the clock on the computer being horribly off. Beyond that, I'm at a loss.
Image

User avatar
Oct
Whee!
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:18 am

Re: Strange bug...!

Postby Oct » Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:54 pm

That happened to me a couple years ago when I got a dual-core machine. I would get inconsistent gameplay speed. The trick I used was: while the eq patching screen is up (before you click play), I opened task manager and set eq to run on only one core. Less power potential... but it runs normally.

The only thing is, it seems that eq now has fixed the dual-core issues....
Octaevius - Cleric
Zaflor - Rogue
Dummkopf - Dumm

User avatar
tauaunt
Should wash his hands after playing with poison ivy.
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:15 pm
Location: Closest fridge with a cold beer.

Re: Strange bug...!

Postby tauaunt » Thu Aug 28, 2008 11:56 am

If you have a duel core, let me know. Give me a ring and I'll get you where you need to be for a driver that takes care of it.
No, I am not a pally, BUT I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night!!

User avatar
Bolwyn
His Own Special Title
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 9:35 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Strange bug...!

Postby Bolwyn » Fri Aug 29, 2008 12:22 pm

Actually, they fixed this a while back so that EQ detects if you have multiple cores and picks one or something... however, I've noticed strange behavior since the last patch, so they may have broken that fix (not a big surprise). Hopefully they know and are working on it. I haven't looked into it.