Page 1 of 1

Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:54 pm
by Elfinia
I still cant get my launcher to work. I've tried the bypass launcher thing, that wont work. I tried restarting my router, that didn't work. I tried deleting launcher logs, that didnt work. I dunno what to do.

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:18 pm
by Cavman
Mine is working fine, have you tried the validation tool on the launcher? I do recall when I logged in earlier that the launcher did a small update before it started, did yours do this too?

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:23 pm
by Derdarr
Windows xp?

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:29 pm
by Elfinia
From my post on Derdarr's Update post:

Anyone else unable to get the dumb launcher to work? I'm getting (1-0) error and prior to that, a windows box is popping up saying LaunchPad.exe- Entry Point not found....then blow that, "The procedure entry point K32GetProcessImageFileNameA could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNAL32.dll."

So irritating....idiot game!! I tried using the audio triggers program to bypass, but I need the launcher to do the game update. UGH!


Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:37 pm
by Derdarr
See above question

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:42 pm
by Elfinia
Sorry, thought I put yes window's XP.

Eli

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:44 pm
by Tandt
Elfinia wrote:Sorry, thought I put yes window's XP.

Eli



wow.. You really need to upgrade your OS... Do you even have the slightest idea of the security vulnerabilities your are putting your self at running that old of a OS ?

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:46 pm
by Elfinia
I'm not uberly tech savy with computers. So I have always been afraid to upgrade my OS. I use Norton, its kept me safe for years, I guess....

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:50 pm
by Derdarr
Maybe a bug/change not on purpose but, win 7 is now listed as min required os.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:52 pm
by Elfinia
EQ worked last night until I finally logged out 12:30am. I usually have a little trouble on patch days with the launcher, but it resolves itself.

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:57 pm
by Tandt
There was a patch to the patcher today.. It may not resolve its self.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:58 pm
by Derdarr
Developer environment change means it's calling processes that win xp n Vista don't understand. Is my layman's interpretation of the new bug/problem

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:00 pm
by Tandt

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:02 pm
by Elfinia
Okay. :( Guess I'm screwed from playing for a bit. :/

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:01 pm
by Fnord
Have to assume it was at least partially unintentional given their lack of announcement. Support page with min requirements was only updated on Friday. Further reading makes me think it was a change to launchpad, not EQ game itself causing the problem. That said, we'll see if they throw out a patch to resolve this or not.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:25 pm
by Elfinia
I can't find where to DL a new launcher, if they even have a page for that.

Elfi.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:34 pm
by Derdarr
cant lauch patcher getting K32GetProcessImageFileNameA cant find it in a dynamics links KERNELL32.DLL
this using window XP”

We are currently looking into this issue. Thanks for letting us know

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:27 pm
by Elfinia
Thanks Derdarr.

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:00 pm
by Jaia
Elf. .here is the fix for you. I copied over the 39 changed files from my Win 7 machine to my XP machine

The fix is listed in full here...

https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq/ind ... 841/page-4

There is a link to the files here...


https://mega.nz/#!A1gQiTLA!XfJABdNOA4wB ... fmjJXCxW3M

Warning.. I did not use the link as I do not download files from people I dont know... but no one posted issues with it so probably okay.

Now.. to login you have to use the method that does not use launchpad... ... as in make a shortcut to launch EQ from the eqgame.exe and tell it patchme. Make sure you point it to your Everquest directory for startin as well.

Hope this helps you!

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:55 am
by Elfinia
So I got the files on my desktop, now where do I put them? Ugh I feel so dumb. :(

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:29 pm
by Meso
you missed a helluva raid

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:45 pm
by Ommina
Elfinia wrote:So I got the files on my desktop, now where do I put them? Ugh I feel so dumb. :(

Elfi


No. The people who should be feeling really silly right now are those that put in a windows 7 dependency into the launchpad, then shipped it out, forcing people to jump through these hoops just to play the game.

And the files will, presumably, go directly into your EQ folder. If some or all of the files already exist, overwrite them.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:12 pm
by Elfinia
Working with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak, I doubt the files are gonna work. Even patchme I get 1017 error saying to re run the patcher because it cant reach the EQ server. So looking like I need a new machine. I have a really old machine, built in 06: MD Athlom 64X2dual....Core Processor4200+....2.21GHz, 2.00 GB of Ram GFORCE 7800 vid card.

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:11 pm
by Jaia
The workaround worked for me Elfinia.... there are 39 files to patch, they all have to go into the right sub-directories. Are you launching without the launchpad using the eqgame.exe?

Tandt discussed how to do this in this thread...https://www.celestialnavigators.org/vie ... f=9&t=9642

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:15 pm
by Elfinia
I think they have something that detects what OS you have? I dunno, I tried the patch me with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak. I sent you a PM on here...

Elfi

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:53 am
by Goofydoofy
Elfinia wrote:Working with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak, I doubt the files are gonna work. Even patchme I get 1017 error saying to re run the patcher because it cant reach the EQ server. So looking like I need a new machine. I have a really old machine, built in 06: MD Athlom 64X2dual....Core Processor4200+....2.21GHz, 2.00 GB of Ram GFORCE 7800 vid card.

Elfi


If your computer was built in 06 and you don't know much about computers so you can fix it when the motherboard or video card or power supply go out, you best just buy a new one now. You are overdue for hardware failure anyway. Get ahead of it while you can.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:55 pm
by Jaia
Bah Goofy.. I am running on one computer that I built in 2005... its not the issue. Their software does not detect OS versions.. they just got lazy and did not do the launchpad compile with the backward compatible fix.

Re: Launcher issues.

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:42 pm
by Goofydoofy
Jaia wrote:Bah Goofy.. I am running on one computer that I built in 2005... its not the issue. Their software does not detect OS versions.. they just got lazy and did not do the launchpad compile with the backward compatible fix.


I'm not saying it is the issue. I'm saying it will be an issue before long, however.