Launcher issues.

Moderator: Littlabit

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:54 pm

I still cant get my launcher to work. I've tried the bypass launcher thing, that wont work. I tried restarting my router, that didn't work. I tried deleting launcher logs, that didnt work. I dunno what to do.

Elfi

User avatar
Cavman
Whee!
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:47 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Cavman » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:18 pm

Mine is working fine, have you tried the validation tool on the launcher? I do recall when I logged in earlier that the launcher did a small update before it started, did yours do this too?
Image
:grr: A coward dies a thousand deaths, A true soldier dies but once!! :grr:

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Derdarr » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:23 pm

Windows xp?

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:29 pm

From my post on Derdarr's Update post:

Anyone else unable to get the dumb launcher to work? I'm getting (1-0) error and prior to that, a windows box is popping up saying LaunchPad.exe- Entry Point not found....then blow that, "The procedure entry point K32GetProcessImageFileNameA could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNAL32.dll."

So irritating....idiot game!! I tried using the audio triggers program to bypass, but I need the launcher to do the game update. UGH!


Elfi

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Derdarr » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:37 pm

See above question

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:42 pm

Sorry, thought I put yes window's XP.

Eli

User avatar
Tandt
Whee!
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Usually staring at corpse, waiting on a res

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Tandt » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:44 pm

Elfinia wrote:Sorry, thought I put yes window's XP.

Eli



wow.. You really need to upgrade your OS... Do you even have the slightest idea of the security vulnerabilities your are putting your self at running that old of a OS ?
Image
Tandt Dmight
105 Warrior
:rr:
Its not big hair, Its my Helmet!

Boss mobs dont kill people, Clerics kill people!!

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:46 pm

I'm not uberly tech savy with computers. So I have always been afraid to upgrade my OS. I use Norton, its kept me safe for years, I guess....

Elfi

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Derdarr » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:50 pm

Maybe a bug/change not on purpose but, win 7 is now listed as min required os.

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:52 pm

EQ worked last night until I finally logged out 12:30am. I usually have a little trouble on patch days with the launcher, but it resolves itself.

Elfi

User avatar
Tandt
Whee!
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Usually staring at corpse, waiting on a res

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Tandt » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:57 pm

There was a patch to the patcher today.. It may not resolve its self.
Image
Tandt Dmight
105 Warrior
:rr:
Its not big hair, Its my Helmet!

Boss mobs dont kill people, Clerics kill people!!

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Derdarr » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:58 pm

Developer environment change means it's calling processes that win xp n Vista don't understand. Is my layman's interpretation of the new bug/problem

User avatar
Tandt
Whee!
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Usually staring at corpse, waiting on a res

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Tandt » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:00 pm

Image
Tandt Dmight
105 Warrior
:rr:
Its not big hair, Its my Helmet!

Boss mobs dont kill people, Clerics kill people!!

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:02 pm

Okay. :( Guess I'm screwed from playing for a bit. :/

Elfi

Fnord
Whee!
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Fnord » Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:01 pm

Have to assume it was at least partially unintentional given their lack of announcement. Support page with min requirements was only updated on Friday. Further reading makes me think it was a change to launchpad, not EQ game itself causing the problem. That said, we'll see if they throw out a patch to resolve this or not.

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:25 pm

I can't find where to DL a new launcher, if they even have a page for that.

Elfi.

Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Derdarr » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:34 pm

cant lauch patcher getting K32GetProcessImageFileNameA cant find it in a dynamics links KERNELL32.DLL
this using window XP”

We are currently looking into this issue. Thanks for letting us know

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:27 pm

Thanks Derdarr.

Elfi

Jaia
Whee!
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Jaia » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:00 pm

Elf. .here is the fix for you. I copied over the 39 changed files from my Win 7 machine to my XP machine

The fix is listed in full here...

https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq/ind ... 841/page-4

There is a link to the files here...


https://mega.nz/#!A1gQiTLA!XfJABdNOA4wB ... fmjJXCxW3M

Warning.. I did not use the link as I do not download files from people I dont know... but no one posted issues with it so probably okay.

Now.. to login you have to use the method that does not use launchpad... ... as in make a shortcut to launch EQ from the eqgame.exe and tell it patchme. Make sure you point it to your Everquest directory for startin as well.

Hope this helps you!

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:55 am

So I got the files on my desktop, now where do I put them? Ugh I feel so dumb. :(

Elfi

User avatar
Meso
Whee!
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Meso » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:29 pm

you missed a helluva raid

User avatar
Ommina
Whee!
Posts: 3913
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:26 pm
Location: ömniöüs

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Ommina » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:45 pm

Elfinia wrote:So I got the files on my desktop, now where do I put them? Ugh I feel so dumb. :(

Elfi


No. The people who should be feeling really silly right now are those that put in a windows 7 dependency into the launchpad, then shipped it out, forcing people to jump through these hoops just to play the game.

And the files will, presumably, go directly into your EQ folder. If some or all of the files already exist, overwrite them.

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:12 pm

Working with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak, I doubt the files are gonna work. Even patchme I get 1017 error saying to re run the patcher because it cant reach the EQ server. So looking like I need a new machine. I have a really old machine, built in 06: MD Athlom 64X2dual....Core Processor4200+....2.21GHz, 2.00 GB of Ram GFORCE 7800 vid card.

Elfi

Jaia
Whee!
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Jaia » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:11 pm

The workaround worked for me Elfinia.... there are 39 files to patch, they all have to go into the right sub-directories. Are you launching without the launchpad using the eqgame.exe?

Tandt discussed how to do this in this thread...https://www.celestialnavigators.org/vie ... f=9&t=9642

Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Elfinia » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:15 pm

I think they have something that detects what OS you have? I dunno, I tried the patch me with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak. I sent you a PM on here...

Elfi

Goofydoofy
Ride a cowboy, save a horse
Posts: 4670
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Bullhead City, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Goofydoofy » Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:53 am

Elfinia wrote:Working with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak, I doubt the files are gonna work. Even patchme I get 1017 error saying to re run the patcher because it cant reach the EQ server. So looking like I need a new machine. I have a really old machine, built in 06: MD Athlom 64X2dual....Core Processor4200+....2.21GHz, 2.00 GB of Ram GFORCE 7800 vid card.

Elfi


If your computer was built in 06 and you don't know much about computers so you can fix it when the motherboard or video card or power supply go out, you best just buy a new one now. You are overdue for hardware failure anyway. Get ahead of it while you can.
Level 105 Druid, Level 105 Enchanter, Level 105 Paladin
Drinal - Maelin Starpyre Server

Jaia
Whee!
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Jaia » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:55 pm

Bah Goofy.. I am running on one computer that I built in 2005... its not the issue. Their software does not detect OS versions.. they just got lazy and did not do the launchpad compile with the backward compatible fix.

Goofydoofy
Ride a cowboy, save a horse
Posts: 4670
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Bullhead City, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: Launcher issues.

Postby Goofydoofy » Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:42 pm

Jaia wrote:Bah Goofy.. I am running on one computer that I built in 2005... its not the issue. Their software does not detect OS versions.. they just got lazy and did not do the launchpad compile with the backward compatible fix.


I'm not saying it is the issue. I'm saying it will be an issue before long, however.
Level 105 Druid, Level 105 Enchanter, Level 105 Paladin
Drinal - Maelin Starpyre Server