Page 1 of 1

EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:20 am
by Oaklen
Hey Amigos,

I just got back last night from our vacation to the Bavarian Alps with the girls and haven't been able to get the launchers to properly open/work on either my Desktop or my Laptop. Has there been a bug anyone else has experienced in the last week? Here are my symptoms so far:

When I click on icon to open launcher there is like a 2 minute delay.

When the "launcher" finally shows up, it is just a black square in the middle of my screen.

If anyone has some troubleshooting tips to share let me know. I hope you are all doing real well and I'll try to post some photos of the trip soon.

Oak

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 3:34 am
by Tarvas
The Facebook page says they are aware of issues to the forums, web, and logins. That was an hour ago.

https://www.facebook.com/EverQuestLive

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:28 am
by Oaklen
Cool beans, thanks buddy. I'll check back in to see if they resolve anything.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:14 am
by Dethwin
Having same issue here

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:24 am
by Jaia
8:30 a.m. on Saturday Feb 14th, and only have a black square as well.

Hope they did not fire the wrong hamster...

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:35 am
by Criploc
I haven't logged on in over a week, and now that I have some time to play, my Icon on desktop doesn't work either.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:56 am
by Aroth
rumor has it that it's another attack

https://twitter.com/LizardPhoenix/statu ... 2743721984

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:31 am
by Derdarr
Appears to be fixed now, was able to log in just now after having the big black box on other attempts.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 9:21 am
by Goofydoofy
It isn't fixed.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:04 am
by Derdarr
ya.. went back down again sometime since I was able to log in,saw some twitter chatter about another dos attack

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:25 am
by Jostian
Is it working for anyone at all?

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:26 am
by Invers
Here is what is posted on ZAM...

UPDATE - Saturday February 14:
•Daybreak had connection issues overnight; forums are back up, but login may not be completely stable yet. It is being worked on.
•12:30pm ET: Smed, Holly and Emily (Domino) have all confirmed that there are DDOS attacks going on. They're doing what they can, but expect things to be unstable until it's mitigated.
•Holly posted a bit more this morning on the EQ2 forums, and twice on the EQ forums, both of which we've included after the jump.
•If you're unfamiliar with Holly, read this comment.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:27 am
by Derdarr
Last I tried couldn't even get to soe website... good thought number one, when its no longer sony hosted maybe they'll leave us alone from attacks.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:32 am
by Invers
Considering pink slips went out yesterday combined with SOE's pitiful track record with security, wouldn't be surprised if this is revenge.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:35 am
by warador
glad im not the only one having trouble at least

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:38 am
by Andreii

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:40 am
by Elfinia
Its fine if you get in, but the lag is LAME.

Elfi

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:53 am
by Invers
The attack is a Denial of Service attack. How these work is the hacker bombards a server with requests (like logging into the game). When we sign onto the game, we send one request with our login info and the server verifies us and lets us into the game. Denial of Service attacks send so many requests to the server all at once that the server cannot keep up with the bombardment and slows to a crawl (or crashes) as a result.

The hackers may not be sending login requests (there are many ways an DoS attack can be executed. I just used logging in as an example.)

Regardless, until Daybreak finds where the attackers are sneaking into the system and blocks it, we are dead in the water.

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 11:32 am
by warador
i just got in so fixed or lucky

Re: EQ not working for me

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 5:32 am
by Meso
I had a bit of trouble with the login. But more annoying is my slow zoning the last few days. I have not had that issue in the past. What could be causing it on my side?